Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Channel O Award nominees released

Topping the nominations for the 2006 Channel O African Music Video Awards with four nods each are Didge and Lizha James from Kenya and Mozambique respectively. Hot on their heels are Nigeria's Dare and 2Face, alongside South Africans Freshlyground and Simphiwe Dana, with three nominations each.
Channel O general mManager Yolisa Phahle is certain that the nominations reflect the diverse and growing music industry in the continent. "We are seeing videos of increasingly high quality and this is a direct reflection of the industry's growth", she says.

"At Channel O we look to strike a balance between promoting the up and coming big names of tomorrow alongside established artists. This year some of the newer names are also producing outstanding music and high quality videos".

A total of 70 artists from 10 different countries have produced this year's nominees in the 18 categories.

Now in its third year, the videos are voted for by viewers, giving fans complete control over who receives an award. Criteria used for short-listing are technical quality, frequency of requests for a video on the different Channel O shows and overall creativity. The videos need to have been released between January 2005 and May 2006 and should have received airplay on Channel O.

Viewers and fans will be able to vote for their favourite artists by smsing or voting online. Voting starts on Friday 25 August until Friday 6 October. Viewers can vote in each category by logging on to or sms +27 (0)83 920 8400. To vote via sms, enter the category name, a space and then the artist's name. Nigerian viewers will be able to vote locally via sms on 33351. All sms are charged at international call rates.

The complete list of nominees is:

1. Best male video

Dare - Escalade -Nigeria
Didge - Saa Zingine - Kenya
HHP - Jabba - South Africa
Lagbaja - Never Far Away - Nigeria
Ntando - Nguwe - South Africa

2. Best female video

Lizha James - For All Ya - Mozambique
Nikki Ft Colo - Hii Ngoma - Kenya
Simphiwe Dana - Ndiredi - South Africa
Yola Araújo - Deix Estar - Angola
Zamajobe - Ndawo Yami - South Africa

3. Best newcomer

D'Banj - Tongolo - Nigeria
Gal Level - Go Back to Her - Namibia
Ike Chuku - Ike Chuku - Nigeria
Lizha James - For All Ya - Mozambique
Tuks - 525600 Minutes - South Africa

4. Best duo or group

Black Jack - Amajekejeke - South Africa
Bongo Maffin - Kura Vone - South Africa
Freshlyground - Nomvula - South Africa
Malaika - 2Bob - South Africa
Question Mark All Stars - Street Life - Nigeria

5. Best urban jazz video

Don Laka - Makoti - South Africa
Judith Sephuma - New Beginnings- South Africa
Simphiwe Dana - Ndiredi - South Africa
Wanda - I'm Falling for You - South Africa
Zamajobe - Ndawo Yami - South Africa

6. Best dance video

Black Coffee - Stimela Remix - South Africa
DJ Cleo - Goodbye - South Africa
DJ Vetkuk vs Mahoota - Nezi za KwaZulu - South Africa
Revolution ft Maduvha - Light of my Life - South Africa
T'zozo & Professor - Woza Durban - South Africa

7. Best reggae video

Benz Man - Mama Joe - Nigeria
Jonny Ragga - Abeshawee - Ethiopia
Lucky Dube - Respect - South Africa
Necessary Noize - Kenyan Boy, Kenyan Girl - Kenya
Street Monks - I Salute - Nigeria

8. Best R&B video

2 Face Idibia - Ole - Nigeria
Anselmo Ralph - Super Hemem - Angola
Dare - Escalade - Nigeria
Didge - Saa Zingine - Kenya
Wyre - Chuki - Kenya

9. Best kwaito video

Alaska - Fokol - South Africa
Black Jack - Good Life - South Africa
Brickz - Tjovitjo - South Africa
Mzekezeke - Ubani U'mzekezeke - South Africa
Spikiri - Current - South Africa

10. Best collaboration video

Danny K & Mandoza - Music - South Africa
Mina Nawe ft Lady Jay Dee - Njalo - South Africa/Tanzania
My Man & Lebo - Siyavuma - South Africa
Slikour ft Zulu Mobb & Hidden Force - Izinja - South Africa
Young Nations & Ray Phiri - Zwakala Emzantsi - South Africa

11. Best Afro-pop

2Face - Ole - Nigeria
Gal Level - Go Back to H- Namibia
Freshlyground - Doo Bee Doo - South Africa
MXO - Tonight - South Africa
Wyre - Chuki - Namibia

12. Best African Southern

Bob Mabege - Chiwamila Galu Zambia
Brickz - Sweetie My Baby - South Africa
Lizha James - For All Ya - Mozambique
Mista Doe - Hot to Death - Botswana
Yola Araújo - Deix Estar - Angola

13. Best African West

2Face Idibia - Ole - Nigeria
Dare - Escalade - Nigeria
D'Banj - Tongolo - Nigeria
Mba Abesolo - Make Mayawa - Nigeria
Silver Saddih - LA LA LA - Nigeria

14. Best African East

Blue 3 - Frisky - Kenya
Didge - Saa Zingine - Kenya
Johnny Ragga - Give Me the K- Ethiopia
Mr Lenny & Nameless - Juju - Kenya
Nikki ft Colo - Hii Ngoma - Kenya

15. Best hip hop video

K'naan - Soobax - Ethiopia
Mode 9 ft Nnena - Cry - Nigeria
Prokid - Woz'bona - South Africa
Sauce Kid ft Mike Okri - Omoge wa Jo - Nigeria
Tuks - 525600 Years - South Africa

16. Best special effects

Andrew Wessels for Ndiredi by Simphiwe Dana - South Africa
Justin Campos for Good Life by Black Jack - South Africa
Larissa Hollis for Ndawo Yami by Zamajobe - South Africa
Neil Simpson for I'd Like by Freshlyground - South Africa
Weird MC - Ijoya - Nigeria

17. Best director

Andrew Wessels for Ndiredi by Simphiwe Dana - South Africa
Neil Simpson for I'd Like by Freshlyground - South Africa
Nelson Mangueira for Superhemem by Anselmo Ralph - Angola
Mode 9 ft Nnena - Cry - Nigeria
Lumko Dukashe for Zwakala Emzantsi by Young Nations & Ray Phiri - South Africa

18. Video of the year

Didge - Saa Zingine - Kenya
Freshlyground - I'd Like - South Africa
Lizha James - For All Ya - Mozambique
Mode 9 ft Nnena - Cry - Nigeria
Simphiwe Dana - Ndiredi - South Africa

The Awards ceremony will be held at Gallagher Estate in Johannesburg on Saturday 14 October. The event will be recorded 'live' and broadcast on Channel O on 21 October at 8pm CAT. Channel O is available on DStv on channel 87.
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.